New texting and driving ban in Iowa

By  | 

A heads-up for Iowans, or anyone else driving through the state, the state's recently-passed texting and driving ban goes into effect Saturday.

The new law makes texting behind the wheel of a car a primary offense.

Before, it was a secondary offense, meaning police had to have another reason to pull you over first.

If you're caught texting and driving in Iowa, you'll have to pay a $30, plus $70.50 in other fees.