16 Apply for Seat on University of Nebraska Board of Regents

By  | 

Sixteen people have applied for an open seat on the University of Nebraska Board of Regents.

Gov. Dave Heineman's office announced the names Friday. The candidates are vying for the southeast Nebraska district seat that was held by former Regent Lavon Heidemann. Heidemann was chosen to serve as the new lieutenant governor.

The applicants are Janice Bostelman of Brainard; Craig Buescher of South Bend; Leon Deunk of Cortland; Steve Glenn of Pawnee City; Michael Jones of David City; Sara York Kenney of Eagle; Janet A. Palmtag of Nebraska City; George Pinkerton of Beatrice; Mike Powers of Palmyra; Barton Dean Ruth of Rising City; Robert M. Schafer of Beatrice; Ben Steffen of Humboldt; Roger Wehrbein of Plattsmouth; Bradley Worman of Nelson; Susan Wurtele of Plattsmouth; and Susan Meyerly of Lincoln.