Emergency Loans

By  | 

Nebraska's director of the Farm Service Agency says farmers in 13 Nebraska counties are now eligible to apply for low-interest emergency loans if they have lost crops to the ongoing drought.

Executive Director Brian Wolford says the loans are available for farmers in Dundy, Frankland, Furnas, Gage, Harlan, Hitchcock, Jefferson, Nuckolls, Pawnee, Red Willow, Richardson, Thayer and Webster counties.

Wolford says the counties are eligible because they are contiguous to one or more of the 81 counties in Kansas that Agriculture Secretary Ann Vanemen designated as primary disaster areas on Jan. 23.

The loans must be submitted through local FSA offices. They apply to farmers who have had at least a 30-percent reduction due to excessive wind, dry conditions and insect infestation after Jan. 1 of last year.

The loans can cover up to 100-percent of the actual loss but have a cap of $500,000.

The deadline for applications is Sept. 23.