Neb. Sex Offenders Accounted for during US Marshals Operation

By  | 

The U.S. Marshals Metro Fugitive Task Force, along with state and local law enforcement officers, joined together Wednesday to account for 94 registered sex offenders in Custer, Sherman, Valley, Nance, Boone, Howard and Greeley counties.

Participating agencies included the seven counties previously listed, the MFTF and the Nebraska State Patrol. The goal was to ensure the state’s sex offenders are living and working where they are reporting and to gain compliance or arrest any who were not in compliance. The teams also focused their attention on arresting any violent fugitives living in the communities.

Due to the experience and local knowledge of the state and local officers, the successful one-day operation netted the following results:

85 offenders were found to be in compliance. The other nine offenders were not contacted and warranted follow-up by the counties. One arrest was made and approximately 3 grams of methamphetamine was seized during the arrest.

Although this operation concluded Wednesday, the U.S. Marshals Metro Fugitive Task Force, along with state and local law enforcement agencies throughout Nebraska, will continue to protect the public from violent fugitives and non-compliant sex offenders on a daily basis.

“Collaborative efforts among local, state and federal law enforcement agencies help ensure the safety and well-being of our communities,” said Mark Martinez, U.S. Marshal for the District of Nebraska. “This particular operation puts sex offenders on notice that they will be checked for compliance under the law.”

The Metro Fugitive Task Force-Lincoln Division is made up of officers from the U.S. Marshals Service, Lancaster County Sheriff, Lincoln Police Department, Saline County Sheriff, Saunders County Sheriff and Gage County Sheriff.