Nebraska Sends Two Science Bowl Teams to Nationals in D.C.

By  | 

Governor Dave Heineman congratulated the regional winners of the 2012 Department of Energy National Science Bowl competition for middle and high school students. Winners from Nebraska include a team of six students from Alice Buffet Magnet Middle School in Omaha and five from Lincoln East High School.

"I'm thrilled to congratulate these students and their teachers on this accomplishment and to cheer them on to victory at the national competition," said Gov. Dave Heineman. "These students are the future leaders of this state and we know our future is in good hands because of them."

The National Science Bowl is an academic challenge that focuses on the principles of mathematics and science. The National competition will be held on April 26-28, 2012, in Chevy Chase, MD, and in Washington DC.

The Buffet regional championship team members include Priya Kukreja, Derek Chew, Chatherine Mittlieder, Jordan Brown, Bryce May, and Coach Sue Durfee. The Lincoln East team members are Akshay Rajagopal, Mylan Bhoopalam, Drew Bakenhus, Michael Liou, Jessica Qui, and Coach Kyle Thompson.