Two Big Ten Teams Selected to NCAA Baseball Championship

By: Courtesy: Big Ten Conference Media Relations
By: Courtesy: Big Ten Conference Media Relations

Michigan State and Purdue were selected to the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, the NCAA announced on Monday. The Boilermakers earned the Big Ten’s automatic bid after winning the conference tournament and are a No. 1 seed, hosting Regional play in Gary, Ind. Michigan State earned an at-large selection and are the No. 3 seed in the Palo Alto Regional. This year marks the first time since 2009 that the Big Ten has had multiple teams in the NCAA bracket.

Purdue (44-12) is the first Big Ten team to host a Regional since Michigan in 2008, and will open NCAA play against No. 4 Valparaiso (35-23). Also in the Regional are No. 2 Kentucky (43-16) and No. 3 Kent State (41-17). The Boilermakers won their first Big Ten championship since 1909 and their first ever Big Ten Tournament title. Purdue is making its first NCAA appearance since 1987 and its second overall.

Michigan State (37-21) makes its first NCAA appearance since 1979 and its fifth overall. The Spartans will open play against No. 2 Pepperdine (34-21). No. 1 Stanford (38-16) and No. 4 Fresno State (30-26) are also in the Palo Alto Regional.

The opening weekend of the NCAA Championship features 16 four-team Regionals in a double-elimination format. Regional play runs from June 1-4 with the 16 winners advancing to Super Regionals. The eight two-team Super Regional sites will be determined on Monday, June 4, with play scheduled for June 8-10 or June 9-11 in best-of-three series. The Men’s College World Series will take place June 15-26 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb.

Courtesy: Big Ten Conference Media Relations

KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email :
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 155104005 -
Gray Television, Inc.