8 Nebraska Counties Added to List for Drought Aid

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Eight more Nebraska counties have been added to a national list of those eligible for a streamlined drought relief process.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture says it streamlined the process as crops in many states burn up in the widest drought in nearly 25 years.

Nearly 1,370 counties nationwide now will automatically qualify for disaster assistance if they're in a severe drought for at least eight weeks or were in extreme drought this growing season.

The eight new Nebraska counties on the list are Boone, Custer, Greeley, Howard, Merrick, Nance, Sherman and Valley.

Already on the list were Banner, Chase, Dawson, Dundy, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Harlan, Hayes, Hitchcock, Kimball, Lincoln, Perkins, Phelps and Red Willow.

KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: front.desk@1011now.com KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: kgin@1011now.com KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email : ksnb@1011now.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 163829066 - 1011now.com/a?a=163829066
Gray Television, Inc.