Emergency Loans

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Nebraska's director of the Farm Service Agency says farmers in 13 Nebraska counties are now eligible to apply for low-interest emergency loans if they have lost crops to the ongoing drought.

Executive Director Brian Wolford says the loans are available for farmers in Dundy, Frankland, Furnas, Gage, Harlan, Hitchcock, Jefferson, Nuckolls, Pawnee, Red Willow, Richardson, Thayer and Webster counties.

Wolford says the counties are eligible because they are contiguous to one or more of the 81 counties in Kansas that Agriculture Secretary Ann Vanemen designated as primary disaster areas on Jan. 23.

The loans must be submitted through local FSA offices. They apply to farmers who have had at least a 30-percent reduction due to excessive wind, dry conditions and insect infestation after Jan. 1 of last year.

The loans can cover up to 100-percent of the actual loss but have a cap of $500,000.

The deadline for applications is Sept. 23.

KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: front.desk@1011now.com KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: kgin@1011now.com KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email : ksnb@1011now.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 625742 - 1011now.com/a?a=625742
Gray Television, Inc.