Update: Judge Nominees Forwarded to Nebraska Governor

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

A panel has selected seven nominees to Gov. Dave Heineman to fill a district judge vacancy in the 4th Judicial District.

The commission announced Tuesday its nominees for the Douglas County court were: David G. Anderson, Steven Chase, Wesley S. Dodge, Kim B. Hawelotte, Michael J. Matukewicz, Kristina Murphree, and Michelle Stratman, All are from Omaha.

Heineman will schedule interviews with the nominees before making a decision.

The commission is made up of lawyers selected by the Nebraska State Bar Association, people nominated by the governor who are not lawyers and a non-voting Nebraska Supreme Court justice, who serves as chairperson.

On May 23, A judicial nominating commission forwarded the names of six people to the governor for consideration in filling a Lancaster County judgeship vacancy.

The office of Gov. Dave Heineman says the nominees are John Albin, Thomas Fox, Milissa Johnson-Wiles, Timothy Phillips, Rodney Reuter, all of Lincoln, and Joseph Dalton, of Waverly.

The vacancy was created by the retirement of County Court Judge Jean Lovell in the 3rd Judicial District, based in Lincoln.

The governor will interview the nominees in the coming weeks.

KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: front.desk@1011now.com KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: kgin@1011now.com KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email : ksnb@1011now.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 152815145 - 1011now.com/a?a=152815145
Gray Television, Inc.