Huskers Fall to #4 Iowa State

By  | 

Jordan Burroughs and Vince Jones posted bonus-point victories against fourth-ranked Iowa State, but No. 3 Nebraska came up short in a 30-10 dual in front of more than 1,670 fans at the NU Coliseum on Sunday.

The Huskers finish the regular season at 17-3-1, while ISU moved to 15-3. Both teams went 3-1 in Big 12 duals. NU’s record is the seventh-straight season and 19th time in the last 20 years that the Huskers have won at least 10 duals. Nebraska’s 17 team wins are the most since the Huskers recorded 19 in 2004-05.

Burroughs picked up his 12th win of the season over a ranked opponent with a 12-3 major decision over No. 8 Cyler Sanderson. Burroughs nearly pinned the Cyclone a minute into the first period, picking up a two-point nearfall, and did the same in the third en route to claiming the win. The junior also earned a major decision against Sanderson in their previous meeting at National Duals.

Likewise, Vince Jones pinned ISU’s Jerome Ward at National Duals in their first matchup, and accomplished the feat again Sunday. Ward had a cradle locked in early in the bout, but neither wrestler could score a takedown in the scramble. After a restart the two scrambled again with Jones earning the upper hand to post the pin in 1:31. The senior has 11 falls this season, and a team-leading 29 overall wins.

Iowa State won close matches at 165, 197 and heavyweight, claiming each match by less than three points. Another decision at 149 and major decisions at 133, 141 and 174 helped the Cyclones pull away before earning a forfeit at 125 for the final margin.

Nebraska begins postseason action with the 2009 Big 12 Championship at the NU Coliseum on Saturday, March 7. Fans are encouraged to purchase their tickets ahead of time by calling the Nebraska Ticket Office at (800) 8-BIGRED or online at

No. 3 Nebraska 10, No. 4 Iowa State 30

NU Coliseum, Lincoln, Neb.

Sunday, Feb. 22

Match Results

133 - #7 Nick Fanthorpe (ISU) by major dec. over Matt Vacanti (NU), 11-3

141 - #4 Nick Gallick (ISU) by major dec. over Patrick Aleksanyan (NU), 11-1

149 - #19 Mitch Mueller (ISU) by dec. over Robert Sanders (NU), 10-3

157 - #3 Jordan Burroughs (NU) by major dec. over #8 Cyler Sanderson (ISU), 12-3

165 - #7 Jon Reader (ISU) by dec. over #6 Stephen Dwyer (NU), 7-4

174 - #18 Duke Burk (ISU) by major dec. over Alex Ward (NU), 19-7

184 - #11 Vince Jones (NU) by fall over #18 Jerome Ward (ISU), 1:31

197 - #1 Jake Varner (ISU) by dec. over #2 Craig Brester (NU), 3-2

285 - #1 David Zabriskie (ISU) by dec. over #19 Tucker Lane (NU), 3-1

125 - #10 Tyler Clark (ISU) by forfeit