Up for Enshrinement

Former Nebraska greats Trev Alberts, Will Shields and Grant Wistrom are among 76 players who comprise the 2009 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Alberts lettered for the Huskers from 1990 to 1993 as an outside linebacker and captured the Butkus Award in 1993, honoring the nation's top linebacker. Alberts finished his career with a Nebraska record 29.5 sacks, including 15 in 1993. Alberts was a first-team All-American and first-team Academic All-American in 1993 and was a two-time All-Big Eight pick. Alberts is currently a college football analyst for CBS College Sports.

Shields was one of the most dominant offensive lineman in Nebraska history during his career from 1989 to 1992. In his senior season, Shields was a unanimous All-America pick and captured the Outland Trophy, while also earning votes for Big Eight Offensive Player of the Year. He earned first-team All-Big Eight honors three times in his career and helped Nebraska to three NCAA rushing titles. Shields went on to play 14 seasons with the Kansas City Chiefs and was an 11-time Pro Bowl selection before retiring following the 2006 season. He was also named the NFL's Man of the Year in 2003 for his remarkable work with charitable and community organizations.

Wistrom was a key part of three Nebraska national championship teams during his career from 1994 to 1997. A two-time All-American and two-time Academic All-American, Wistrom captured the 1997 Lombardi Award and was a winner of the NCAA Top Eight Award. His play helped Nebraska amass a 49-2 record during his career. Wistrom holds the Nebraska school record for tackles for loss with 58.5 and ranks second at NU with 26.5 sacks. Wistrom was a first-round pick in the 1998 NFL Draft and played nine seasons in the pro ranks. He helped the St. Louis Rams to two Super Bowl appearances, including a victory in Super Bowl XXXIV, and also helped Seattle to a Super Bowl appearance.

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been a First-Team All-America selection by a major/national selector as recognized and utlitized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and not currently be playing professionally.

The Hall of Fame Class will be announced on Thursday, April 30 and inducted at the National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, 2009, in New York City.

Nebraska is represented in the College Football Hall of Fame by 13 former players and six former coaches. Miek Rozier was the most recent Husker to be added to the list when he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006.

Courtesy: NU Media Relations.