Kansas Wins Big 12 Regular Season Title

By  | 

The University of Kansas (25-6) has earned the 2008-09 Big 12 men’s basketball regular season title. It marks the ninth crown in 13 seasons for the Jayhawks, who have won or shared five in a row.

KU finished 14-2 in league play and will be the No. 1 seed in the Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship. It is the fifth time that Kansas has been the top seed. The Championship is scheduled to be played on March 11-14 at the Ford Center in Oklahoma City.

Oklahoma (27-4, 13-3), Missouri (25-6, 12-4) and Kansas State (21-10, 9-7) also earned the first-round byes in the championship. OU has a bye for the 10th time, while Missouri will be a top four seed for the first time since 1999. K-State has a bye for the third consecutive season.

Extensive video coverage of the entire Championship can be found via the Big 12 Web site at Big12sports.com. The video available will include links to every game and live postgame press conference. In addition, exclusive postgame coverage of the championship trophy ceremony can be found on Saturday night, March 14. The broadcast will include the first-time showing of the Big 12’s basketball highlight video, Live Your Dreams.

The entire Phillips 66 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship will also be televised either regionally or nationally by the Big 12 Network, ESPN or ESPN2.

**Note -- For the 2009 Big 12 Men's Basketball Championship bracket, please click the link above.**

Related Documents