Big Ten Announces 2015 and 2016 Football Schedules

By: Courtesy: NU Media Relations
By: Courtesy: NU Media Relations

Nebraska 2015 Football Schedule
Sept. 5 - BYU
Sept. 12 - South Alabama
Sept. 19 - at Miami
Sept. 26 - Southern Miss
Oct. 3 - at Minnesota
Oct. 10 - BYE
Oct. 17 - Northwestern
Oct. 24 - at Wisconsin
Oct. 31 - Michigan State
Nov. 7 - at Michigan
Nov. 14 - Indiana
Nov. 21 - at Penn State
Nov. 28 - Iowa

Nebraska 2016 Football Schedule
One non-conference game TBA
Sept. 3 - Fresno State
Sept. 10 - Tennessee
Sept. 17 - Wyoming
Oct. 1 - at Northwestern
Oct. 8 - Wisconsin
Oct. 15 - BYE
Oct. 22 - Minnesota
Oct. 29 - at Michigan State
Nov. 5 - at Indiana
Nov. 12 - Michigan
Nov. 19 - Penn State
Nov. 26 - at Iowa

The Big Ten Conference announced its football schedules for the 2015 and 2016 seasons on Monday morning, giving Nebraska fans a look at the Huskers' conference slate each of the next five seasons.

In 2015 and 2016, Nebraska will continue to play the other five Legends Division schools each season-Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota and Northwestern, along with its permanent cross-division opponent, Penn State.

In 2015 and 2016, Nebraska will face Indiana for the first time as a Big Ten opponent, and will also take on Wisconsin in each of those seasons. Indiana is the only opponent that Nebraska will not face in the regular-season during its first four seasons in the Big Ten (2011-14), and the 2015 matchup will be the first between the schools since 1978. Nebraska plays Wisconsin and Ohio State again this fall, after meeting those two Leaders Division schools in 2011, and Purdue and Illinois will rotate onto the schedule in 2013 and 2014.

Nebraska will open Big Ten play in 2015 at Minnesota on Oct. 3, followed by an off week. The Huskers will play host to Northwestern, Michigan State, Indiana and Iowa at Memorial Stadium, while traveling to Wisconsin, Michigan and Penn State.

The Huskers will also open conference play on the road in 2016, traveling to Northwestern on Oct. 1, before hosting Wisconsin on Oct. 8. Following a bye week, Nebraska will play six straight weeks, including its first-ever trip to Indiana on Nov. 5, 2016. The Big Ten Championship Games are set for Dec. 5, 2016, and Dec. 3, 2016.

In addition to the 2015 and 2016 Big Ten schedules announced Monday, Nebraska has already completed its non-conference schedule for 2015. Nebraska will host BYU, South Alabama and Southern Miss at Memorial Stadium, while traveling to Miami. In 2016, Nebraska has non-conference home games with Fresno State, Tennessee and Wyoming set, with one additional non-conference game to be announced.

Nebraska officially joined the Big Ten Conference on July 1, 2011, and played its first football season as a member of the league in 2011.

Courtesy: Nebraska Media Relations

KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email :
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 152397175 -
Gray Television, Inc.