No. 9 Huskers Fall to No. 1 Gophers, 27-7

By  | 

The No. 9 Nebraska wrestling team fell to No. 1 Minnesota in its home opener at the NU Coliseum on Friday night, 27-7.

The loss marks the first for the Huskers this season following a 2-0 road trip last weekend. The Golden Gophers improve to 2-0 with the victory. Minnesota opened with a32-6 win over Hofstra on Friday, Nov. 9.

In the first match of the night, Minnesota’s No. 1 Tony Nelson won by major decision over Nebraska’s Donny Longendyke in the heavyweight battle, 11-2. Nelson improves to 5-0 with the win and Longendyke falls to 3-5.

The Gophers added two major decisions in the next three matches with No. 6 David Thorn defeating Eric Coufal, 14-3 at 125 pounds, and No. 8 Nick Dardanes topping Skylar Galloway, 11-2, at 141 pounds. At 133 pounds, No. 6 Chris Dardanes won a 12-5 decision over Nebraska’s Shawn Nagel.

Trailing 15-0, the Huskers’ Jake Sueflohn picked up the team’s first victory with his 14-5 major decision over Seth Lange. No. 13 Sueflohn moves to 5-0 on the year and earned his first major decision of 2012-13. Lange falls to 1-1 with theloss.

The Huskers picked up their second straight victory with No. 5 James Green’s 14-9 decision over Minnesota’s Brad Dolezal. Green, a sophomore, won his eighth match on the season, while Dolezal fell to 12-2. With the win, the Huskers cut the Gophers’ lead to 15-7.

At 165 pounds, Austin Wilson lost an 8-6 decision to No. 9 Cody Yohn. Wilson falls to 5-2 with the loss and Yohn improves to 6-1. No. 5 Logan Storley kept Minnesota’s momentum going with a sudden victory over fellow South Dakota native No. 7 Robert Kokesh, 3-1, at 174 pounds. Kokesh suffers his first loss of the season following a 5-0 start.

Minnesota won at 184 and 197 pounds by 3-1 decisions to close out the match. No. 4 Kevin Steinhaus of Minnesota won over No. 6 Josh Ihnen, while No. 12 Scott Schiller defeated Caleb Kolb. Ihnen falls to 6-1 with the loss and Kolb moves to 1-3.

The Huskers return to action on Sunday for a pair of duals against North Carolina and South Dakota State starting at noon.