Hooper Added to Wade Trophy Watch List

By: Courtesy: Nebraska Media Relations
By: Courtesy: Nebraska Media Relations

Nebraska sophomore Jordan Hooper was one of eight women's basketball players nationally added to the 2012 Wade Trophy Watch List on Tuesday.

Hooper, a 6-2 forward from Alliance, Neb., has helped power the Huskers to a No. 13 national ranking and a 19-3 overall record in their first season in the Big Ten Conference. The Huskers own an 8-2 conference mark thanks in large part to Hooper's 20 points and 9.4 rebounds per game. Hooper ranks second in the Big Ten in scoring and leads the conference in rebounding. She also leads the Big Ten with 10 double-doubles on the season and has scored in double figures in all 22 games this season. Hooper also ranks among the Big Ten leaders with 51 three-pointers made on the season - already the second-highest total by a sophomore in school history. Hooper is one of just six sophomores on the 2012 Wade Watch List.

Last season, Hooper averaged 13.6 points and 6.4 rebounds per game to earn a spot on the Big 12 All-Freshman Team. She has improved her game in every area on the season and has developed into one of the most explosive players in Nebraska history and a leading contender for Big Ten Player-of-the-Year honors. Hooper scored 30 or more points three times in a four-game stretch this season, becoming just the second player in school history to accomplish that feat. She also became just the second player in school history to grab 15 or more rebounds in back-to-back games.

She is on track to become the first sophomore in school history to reach the 1,000-point scoring mark. In fact, Hooper needs just 10 points to match the combined freshman-sophomore season totals of 2010 Wade Trophy finalist Kelsey Griffin and just 54 points to reach the total of 1993 Wade Trophy winner Karen Jennings at the end of her sophomore season in 1991.

Hooper is one of three Big Ten players added to the 2011-12 State Farm Wade Watch List, joining Ohio State's Samantha Prahalis and Tayler Hill. Anna Martin (DePaul), A'dia Mathies (Kentucky), Khadijah Rushdan (Rutgers), Alyssa Thomas (Maryland) and Julie Wojta (Green Bay) were other additions to the list of 25 "Wade Watch" national player-of-the-year hopefuls from the preseason.

State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition present The State Farm Wade Trophy to the nation's most outstanding NCAA® Division I women's basketball player each year - one who not only excels athletically but also serves as a positive role model both on and off the court. The acclaimed Wade Watch list, from which The State Farm Wade Trophy recipient is chosen, consists of players selected on the basis of game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team, and overall playing ability.

The State Farm Wade Watch list will be trimmed to 12 finalists in mid-March. State Farm and the Wade Trophy Coalition will officially announce the State Farm Wade Trophy winner during the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women's Final Four® in Denver.

Hooper and the Huskers will be in action at the Devaney Center on Thursday night when Nebraska takes on Michigan. Tip-off between the Huskers and Wolverines is set for 7:05 p.m. Tickets are available now at Huskers.com or by calling 1-800-8-BIG-RED.

Courtesy: Nebraska Media Relations

KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: front.desk@1011now.com KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: kgin@1011now.com KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email : ksnb@1011now.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 138899004 - 1011now.com/a?a=138899004
Gray Television, Inc.