Pepin Honored as Women’s Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year

By: Courtesy: NU Media Relations
By: Courtesy: NU Media Relations

On Tuesday afternoon the Big Ten Conference announced its 2012 indoor track and field All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners. Nebraska Head Coach Gary Pepin was the named the Women’s Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year as voted on by his peers.

Pepin was honored after leading his women’s team to their first Big Ten team title at last weekend’s 2012 Big Ten Indoor Championships at the Devaney Center where Nebraska beat Ohio State 114.50-106. Along with winning their 24th indoor conference title, the Husker women won three individual titles in the pole vault, triple jump and 3,000 meters. Pepin has now been named a conference coach of the year 23 times, and it marks the seventh time he has been selected for the women’s indoor award. As the men’s and women’s coach, Pepin has guided the Huskers to 68 conference titles, including 44 Big Eight championships, 23 Big 12 team titles and their first Big Ten title in 2012.

Additionally, the Huskers saw three female student-athletes earn All-Big Ten first-team nods as Breanna Bussel, Mara Griva and Ashley Miller received accolades. On the men’s side, Chris Phipps and Luke Pinkelman notched All-Big Ten first-team honors, while Bjorn Barrefors, Tommy Brinn, Ricco Hall and Patrick Raedler were named All-Big Ten second-team award winners.

Courtesy: Nebraska Media Relations

KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email :
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 140807293 -
Gray Television, Inc.