Trio of Former Huskers on College Football HOF Ballot

By: Courtesy: NU Media Relations
By: Courtesy: NU Media Relations

Three former Nebraska All-Americans are part of 76 former college football players that were placed on the 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot, which was released by the National Football Foundation on Tuesday, Feb. 28. Former Huskers Trev Alberts, Tommie Frazier and Eric Crouch will all have the opportunity to be among this year’s class of inductees, which will be announced on May 15.

Alberts was a four-year starter for the Huskers at defensive end and became the first Butkus Award winner in school history as a senior in 1993. That season he recorded 96 tackles and tied a school record with 15 sacks, while leading NU through an undefeated season and an Orange Bowl berth. The Cedar Falls, Iowa, native was named a consensus first-team All-American as a senior and was also tabbed the Football News National Defensive Player of the Year. Alberts tallied 73 tackles as a junior en route to being named a second-team All-American. Off the field, the first-team CoSIDA Academic All-American was honored with The Today’s Top Six Award and was a three-time academic All-Big Eight honoree.

Voters will also have the chance to vote for two of the most dynamic quarterbacks in the history of college football in Crouch and Frazier. Crouch became Nebraska’s third Heisman Trophy winner in 2001 after leading the Huskers to the National Championship game. An option-based quarterback out of Omaha’s Millard North High School, Crouch set the NCAA record for career rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 59, and he owns the Nebraska career record for total offense with 7,915 yards. A consensus All-American in 2001, Crouch also reeled in the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Davey O’Brien Award and the Sporting News Offensive Player of the Year award.

Frazier will go down as one of the greatest winners in college football history after leading the Huskers to back-to-back national championships in 1994 and 1995, while capturing most valuable player honors in both championship games. Frazier finished second in the Heisman voting as a senior in 1995 and earned first-team All-America honors from eight major publications after leading NU to an undefeated season and a 62-24 rout of No. 2 and previously unbeaten Florida in the national title game. As a junior, Frazier returned from a seven-game absence because of a blot clot to lead the Huskers to their first national title in 23 seasons with his fourth-quarter heroics in NU’s 24-17 come-from-behind victory over Miami in the Orange Bowl. Frazier, who was named one of the 10 greatest college football players of the century according to Sport magazine, finished his career with 5,476 total yards and 79 touchdowns.

The 2012 Hall of Fame Class will be announced on May 15 at 11 a.m. in New York City. Those who are selected will be inducted into the hall at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 4, 2012 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. A total of 12,000 National Football Foundation members and current Hall of Fame members will cast votes. The current Hall of Fame is comprised of only 900 former players and 194 coaches.

Courtesy: Nebraska Media Relations

KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email :
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 140807113 -
Gray Television, Inc.