Severe Weather: First Tornado Watch of the Season


The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch in effect until 7:00 p.m. Monday evening including more than 50 counties.

Hail to 2 inches is possible, as well as wind gusts up to 70 mph.

In East Central Nebraska: Butler, Dodge, Polk, Saunders, and York Counties.

In Northeast Nebraska: Antelope, Boone, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Knox, Madison, Pierce, Platte, Stanton, and Wayne Counties.

In Southeast Nebraska: Gage, Fillmore, Jefferson, Lancaster, Saline, Seward, and Thayer Counties.

In Central Nebraska: Custer, Greenley, Howard, Merrick, Nance, Sherman, and Valley Counties.

In North Central Nebraska: Blaine, Boyd, Brown, Cherry, Garfield, Holt, Keya Paha, Loup, Rock, Thomas, and Wheeler Counties.

In South Central Nebraska: Adams, Buffalo, Clay, Franklin, Hall, Hamilton, Harlan, Kearney, Nuckolls, Phelps, and Webster Counties.

Stay tuned to for the latest updates. Click on the link below for safety tips from the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Cole Location: Lincoln NE on Apr 26, 2009 at 01:23 PM
    Hello,I just want to say that I love thunderstorms because their exciting.But sometimes they can be scary because of the golfball sized hail.The hail can break windows and damage your most prized possesions I love weather thats all I want to say. Thank you.
  • by Anonymous on Mar 23, 2009 at 05:16 PM
    My fiance saw the tornado that was south of Lincoln 6 miles. We're near 48th & Pioneers & he said that it looked as if it was at Hwy 2 thats how close it looked. I was doing good w/ not freaking out till he started to after he saw the tornado! lol. I loveeee this weather!!
  • by Angie Location: Lincoln on Mar 23, 2009 at 04:51 PM
    YEA!! I'm so ready for this kind of weather to go storm chasing again!
  • by Anonymous Location: Ceresco on Mar 23, 2009 at 04:24 PM
    If your sirens blow, head for the basement! Been there, done that in Ceresco!
  • by Kendra Location: Crete on Mar 23, 2009 at 03:52 PM
    I don't want any of it yall can keep it all take spring and bring on summer... what a way to spend a day off of school worring about a tornado yeah you just keep that one to yourself I don't want it
  • by David Location: Lincoln on Mar 23, 2009 at 03:10 PM
    I want to see some Tornadoes Haha just kidding but the hail will be awesome The wind Not so awesome 70 mph!!!
  • by Anonymous on Mar 23, 2009 at 01:36 PM
    :) Welcome spring! Bring on the thunderstorms and rain! <3 (Keep away the tornadoes and hail tho!)
KOLN-TV Call: (402) 467-4321 Toll-free: 1-800-475-1011 840 North 40th Lincoln, NE 68503 Email: KGIN-TV Call: (308) 382-6100 123 N Locust Street Grand Island, NE 68802 Email: KSNB-TV Toll free 888-475-1011 123 N. Locust St. Grand Island, NE 68802 Email :
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 41691172 -
Gray Television, Inc.