Lincoln Primary Election: Gaylor Baird and Geist advance in race for mayor

Published: Apr. 4, 2023 at 7:59 PM CDT|Updated: Apr. 5, 2023 at 5:52 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LINCOLN, Neb. (KOLN) - The Lancaster County Election Commissioner released its unofficial final results for the Lincoln Primary Election around 10:15 p.m. Tuesday.

Suzanne Geist and incumbent mayor Leirion Gaylor Baird were the top two vote getters in Tuesday’s City of Lincoln Primary Election, defeating Stan Parker. The unofficial final results show Gaylor Baird has 28,838 votes followed by Suzanne Geist with 19,138 votes. Stan Parker trails with 9,945 votes.

According to the election commission website, approximately 300 early vote ballots and 430 provisional ballots will be counted later this week.

Voter turnout for the primary was 33 percent of registered voters.

In this non-partisan election, the two candidates with the most votes in the races for mayor, city council and LPS Board of Education will advance to the General Election. Four candidates in the race for Airport Authority Board of Directors will advance.