2018 Nebraska Severe Weather Awareness Poster Contest winners named

The top four posters in the annual Severe Weather Awareness Week Poster Contest were honored at the Capitol March 5. Lt. Gov. Mike Foley also declare it Severe Weather Awareness Week.
By  | 

LINCOLN, Neb. – The top four students who submitted preparedness posters in the 2018 Severe Weather Awareness contest were recognized Monday morning at the Proclamation Signing Ceremony for Severe Weather Awareness Week at the Capitol.

Clayton Butler, 10, a fourth grader at Hemingford Public Schools (Box Butte County), earned first place in the contest. More than 900 fourth graders submitted preparedness posters in the 2018 Severe Weather Awareness Contest sponsored by the Nebraska Association of Emergency Management (NAEM), the National Weather Service (NWS), the Nebraska Military Department and the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

Butler’s poster features Blue Lightning, a super hero who teaches about safety as well as a comic strip about Opposite Cooper, a guy who doesn’t care about safety and keeps getting struck by lightning because he doesn’t follow safe practices during lightning storms. Blue Lightning says: “Safety is super, so don’t be like Cooper!”

Lt. Gov. Mike Foley proclaimed March 25-31 as Nebraska Severe Weather Awareness Week. The week is observed to increase awareness of, and response to spring and summer severe weather hazards. As part of the week’s observance a statewide tornado drill is scheduled at 10 a.m. on March 28.

“We want all Nebraskans to take some time to during Severe Weather Awareness Week to prepare for spring and summer severe weather,” said Bryan Tuma, NEMA assistant director. “The devastating impacts of extreme events can be reduced through improved readiness. Make a safety plan, create a preparedness kit and review proper safety precautions. It is a good practice for those of us who live in areas affected by tornadoes, floods and severe thunderstorms.”

The annual contest was open to all fourth grade students in Nebraska. Lt. Gov. Foley presented the students with certificates signed by Gov. Pete Ricketts. County emergency managers submitted their top three posters from their counties for judging at the state level.

Severe weather can result in tragic losses that preparation and planning can prevent. Through the poster contest, fourth graders from across the state encourage Nebraskans to follow weather safety precautions.

Second Place went to Erin Gegg, 10, of Odell Elementary School in Diller (Jefferson County), whose poster recommends that people “Take Cover from the Elements: Lightning, Flooding and Tornadoes.”

Caydence Feldman, 9, of Litchfield Public Schools in Sherman County, submitted a poster that featured a variety of weather events. It reminded people that the weather events are coming fast and are unexpected. Caydence says: “Don’t delay and be protected.”

Fourth place by Kinsey Lauby, 10, of Loomis Public School in Phelps County reminds Nebraskans to “Stop taking pictures of tornadoes and get inside.” It features three photographers being swept away by a tornado.

Posters were judged on originality, effort and accuracy. The top prize is a $125 gift card, second is $100 and third $75, all provided by NAEM. NWS provides a $50 gift card for fourth place. NEMA provides certificates for all the students and the Nebraska Military Department mats the posters as a remembrance for students.

The top four:
First Place
Clayton Butler Hemingford Box Butte County Hemingford Public Schools
Second Place
Erin Gegg Diller Jefferson County Diller-Odell Elementary School
Third Place
Caydence Feldman Litchfield Sherman County Litchfield Public School
Fourth Place
Kinsey Lauby Loomis Phelps County Loomis Public School

Honorable Mentions
Ryder Anderson-Ray West Point Cuming County Guardian Angels School
Hannah Hendricks Hershey Lincoln County Hershey Public School
Mylee Kammin Lincoln Lancaster County Ruth Hill Elementary School
Payten Nielsen Niobrara Knox County Niobrara Public Schools
Haylee Ray Spalding Greeley County Riverside Public Schools
Reese Rethwisen Wayne Wayne County Wayne Elementary School
Jacob Rice Oxford Furnas County Southern Valley Schools
Anna Kate Verdoni Papillion Sarpy County St. Columbkille School
Kendal Wineteer Aurora Hamilton County Aurora Elementary School