Nebraska Legislature opens 2019 session

By  | 

LINCOLN, Neb (KOLN) Day one of the Legislature's 90-day session is focused on organization.
More than a quarter of this year's senators entered the chamber for the first time today.

After swearing in the 24 senators who were elected in November, the business of choosing committee chairs began.

Norfolk Senator Jim Scheer was re-elected as Speaker. Of the 14 standing committee chairs who were elected, Matt Hansen was the only Lincoln senator to secure a chairmanship. He'll be serving as chair of the Business and Labor Committee
That Committee generally deals with employment law in the state of Nebraska. "The main area that consistently come up are workers' compensation, unemployment insurance, and collective bargaining specifically with state employee unions," Hansen said.