State Canvass Board certifies election results, 58% voter turnout

Published: Dec. 3, 2018 at 2:07 PM CST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Members of the Nebraska State Board of Canvassers on Monday certified the results of the statewide general election held on November 6th.

The Board consists of state constitutional officers including Secretary of State John Gale, State Treasurer Don Stenberg, Auditor of Public Accounts Charlie Janssen, Attorney General Doug Peterson, and Board chairman Governor Pete Ricketts.

The results of the election, including the certified results from state and federal races, were compiled into the State Board of Canvassers report and submitted to the Board for final approval, which was granted unanimously by the Board.

The Board ordered two automatic recounts as required by statute. The two races for which recounts are to be conducted are Little Blue Natural Resources District Director for Subdistrict 5 and Lower Elkhorn Natural Resources District Director for Subdistrict 6.

The affected candidate for Little Blue Natural Resources District Subdistrict 5 has subsequently filed paperwork with the Secretary of State stating that he is waiving his right to the automatic recount, and as such it will not be conducted.

Due to the state holiday declared for Wednesday, December 5th mourning the passing of President George H.W. Bush, the Board ordered that recounts be carried out starting Thursday, December 6th at 9 a.m.

The final certified results are available on the Secretary of State’s website at


Latest News

Latest News