Foecke named a Senior CLASS Award candidate

By  | 

LINCOLN, Neb. — Thirty NCAA women’s volleyball student-athletes, including Nebraska outside hitter Mikaela Foecke, were selected Monday as candidates for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

A native of West Point, Iowa, Foecke carries a 3.649 GPA majoring in animal science and is a two-time NCAA Championship most outstanding player, making her one of only four volleyball players in NCAA history to accomplish that feat. Foecke was an AVCA second-team All-American in 2017 after leading the Huskers to their second NCAA Championship in three years. Foecke has excelled both on and off the court in her four years at Nebraska, as she is a three-time academic All-Big Ten selection and has received Nebraska's high honors (silver) academic medallion twice.

A team captain in 2018, Foecke is leading the team with 3.58 kills per set on .328 hitting with 2.46 digs per set. Foecke ranks in Nebraska's top 15 in career kills and career aces.

Of the 30 candidates, 18 have grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher and 27 have received academic all-conference honors. Fifteen are returning American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans, and 10 are members of teams ranked in the AVCA Top 25 Coaches Poll. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

Volleyball Candidates
Kamalani Akeo, Pittsburgh
Courtney Pence, Illinois State
Tami Alade, Stanford
Jordan Poulter, Illinois
Rachel Anderson, Western Kentucky
Colleen Reilly, Wofford
Ali Bastianelli, Illinois
Michela Rucli, Hofstra
Lauren Bruns, Dayton
Jess Schaben, Iowa State
Santita Ebangwese, Syracuse
Samantha Seliger-Swenson, Minnesota
Gabrielle Eyl, Northeastern
Carly Skjodt, Michigan
Mikaela Foecke, Nebraska
Alexa Smith, Colorado
Cara Guthrie, UNC Asheville
Kirstyn Sperry, Bryant
Erica Haslag, Bradley
Haley Templeton, Miami
Taryn Kloth, Creighton
Abby Thelen, Seton Hall
Haley Libs, Northern Kentucky
Jaila Tolbert, Virginia Tech
AJ Lux, East Tennessee State
Erica Treiber, Tennessee
Patricia Mattingly, Navy
Jaali Winters, Creighton
Alyssa Munlyn, Missouri
Karley York, North Texas