Nebraska volleyball's Cook named Nebraskan of the Year

By  | 

LINCOLN, Neb. — Nebraska volleyball head coach John Cook accepted the Rotary #14 Nebraskan of the Year award on Tuesday morning.

Cook has led the Huskers to two national titles in the last three years, and is working to help guide the team there again this season.

During his acceptance speech, Cook talked about dreaming big and applauded Husker fans for 250 consecutive sellouts for volleyball matches, which the team will accomplish on Friday.

The award was established to honor and recognize the accomplishments of a Nebraskan who has distinguished himself or herself through service to others in keeping with ideals of Rotary International.

Each year one honoree from a statewide field of nominees is selected based on honesty, integrity and concern for others; service in charitable and civic causes and; leadership and significant accomplishments in his/her profession or volunteer activities.

Previous winners of the Nebraskan of the Year Award include business leader Anthony Messineo, Jr., Educator Dr. Martin Massengale, businessman and philanthropist Duane Acklie, former U. S. Congressman and Husker Coach and Athletic Director Dr. Tom Osborne, U. S. Poet Laureate Ted Kooser, Civil Rights Leader Leola Bullock and former Nebraska Governor Charles Thone.

Tuesday's event was held at Embassy Suites in Lincoln.

You can watch part of Cook's speech by clicking the link above.