Three Former Huskers Selected to USA Women's Volleyball Team

Published: Jul. 12, 2016 at 11:09 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado – USA Volleyball has announced its 12-player U.S. Olympic Women’s Volleyball Team roster that will try to make history in the 2016 Olympic Games from Aug. 6-20. The list includes three former Huskers - Kayla Banwarth, Jordan Larson and Kelsey Robinson.

U.S. Women’s National Team Head Coach Karch Kiraly and his staff have selected a roster with four Olympic veterans and eight players who will be making their first appearances on the grandest sporting stage. Middles Foluke Akinradewo (Plantation, Florida, Media Downloads) and Christa Dietzen (Hopewell Township, Pennsylvania, Media Downloads), outside hitter Jordan Larson (Hooper, Nebraska, Media Downloads) and setter Courtney Thompson (Kent, Washington, Media Downloads) return from Team USA’s 2012 Olympic Games silver-medal finish in London.

Newcomers to the Olympian family are outside hitters Kim Hill (Portland, Oregon, Media Downloads) and Kelsey Robinson (Bartlett, Illinois, Media Downloads), middle Rachael Adams (Cincinnati, Ohio, Media Downloads), opposites Karsta Lowe (Rancho Santa Fe, California, Media Downloads) and Kelly Murphy (Wilmington, Illinois, Media Downloads), setters Alisha Glass (Leland, Michigan, Media Downloads) and Carli Lloyd (Bonsall, California, Media Downloads), and libero Kayla Banwarth (Dubuque, Iowa, Media Downloads).

With Robinson and Banwarth making the Olympic squad for the first time, the Huskers now have six former players all-time who will have represented the U.S. at the Olympics, including Larson, Nancy Metcalf (Meendering), Allison Weston and Lori Endicott.

The trio has been with the U.S. National Team together since 2014, while Banwarth's experience goes back to 2011 and Larson to 2009. They helped the U.S. win its first major gold medal at the FIVB World Championship in October 2014.