The Nebraska Primary Election is May 10.
The Nebraska Primary Election is May 10.(10/11 NOW)

LINCOLN, Neb. - Nebraskans will vote for a new governor this November, as incumbent Governor Pete Ricketts is barred from running for a third consecutive term.

Twelve candidates are running in the race to succeed Ricketts for a four year term, including nine Republicans, two Democrats and one Libertarian.

On the Republican side, Charles Herbster, a Falls City farm owner, had the race to himself for months. He’s backed by former President Donald Trump.

Two other Republicans hold elected office, including State Sen. Brett Lindstrom and University of Nebraska Regent Jim Pillen, who has the backing of much of the state party, including Ricketts.

Theresa Thibodeau, who was Herbster’s running-mate for a short time, launched her own campaign.

Other GOP candidates include Donna Carpenter, Michael Connely, Lela McNinch, Breland Ridenour and Troy Wentz.

In the Democratic primary, State Sen. Carol Blood of Bellevue will take on Roy Harris.

Libertarian Scott Zimmerman is the only third party candidate in the race.

The primary is scheduled for Tuesday, May 10.

We sent questionnaires to each candidate in the race. Responses from candidates are posted verbatim and not edited for spelling, grammar, or content. Click on each candidate’s photo for their responses. Please refresh page if not all candidate photos load.