Rolfzen Named to 2013 U.S. Women’s Junior National Team

By  | 

Colorado Springs, Colo. – Nebraska freshman Amber Rolfzen was selected as one of 12 players for the 2013 U.S. Women’s Junior National Team (WJNT) representing the United States at the 2013 FIVB Volleyball Women’s U20 World Championships in Brno, Czech Republic June 21-30.

The dozen WJNT players include outside hitters Jordan Burgess (Tampa, Fla.), Kierra Holst (Coppell, Texas) and Andie Malloy (Allen, Texas) and Amber Rolfzen (Papillion, Neb.), middle blockers Sarah Burrington (Ruskin, Fla.), Chanell Clark-Bibbs (Houston), Canace Finley (Fort Collins, Colo.) and Merete Lutz (Houston), setters Nicole Edelman (Boulder, Colo.), Kelsey Humphreys (Newport Beach, Calif.) and Allison Palmer (Laguna Beach, Calif.), and libero Caitlin Nolan (Southlake, Texas).

Rolfzen was part of the 2011 U.S. Girls’ Youth National Volleyball Team that competed in the 2011 FIVB Volleyball Girls’ U18 World Championship.

“We have a solid group of players that worked hard for the opportunity to represent their country at the World Championships,” U.S. Women’s Junior National Volleyball Team Head Coach Rod Wilde said. “They are very excited about the chance to test themselves against the best in the world. We will continue to develop as a team throughout the tournament. We have just scratched the surface of the potential in this group and as coaches we are excited to see how far they can go in the tournament.”

The U.S. Women’s Junior National Training Team spent the last week at the U.S. Olympic Training Center in Lake Placid, N.Y., making its final two cuts for the WJNT. The WJNT departs directly from Lake Placid to the Czech Republic on Saturday. Upon arrival, the WJNT will train for four days prior to the first day of competition. Group play will be held June 21-25 followed by the playoff rounds beginning on June 26, where the matchups will depend on the results of group play.

Team USA opens Pool C versus Bulgaria on June 21 at 5:15 p.m. local time (10:15 a.m. CT), followed by Brazil on June 22 at 5:15 p.m. local time (10:15 a.m. CT), Mexico on June 24 at 12:45 p.m. local time (5:45 a.m. CT) and Russia on June 25 at 5:15 p.m. local time (10:15 a.m. CT). All Pool C matches take place in Brno at the SH Vodova Hall.